7/1/17 – Change is good. Haemorrhoids, not so much….

Day 185

7/2/17

169.4

So, they’re back, and they’re not taking no for an answer this time. Yay. Only I could have the worlds most stubborn piles.On the plus side…. nope, can’t do it, there is zero plus side to haemorrhoids.

On a more pleasant note though, I’ve noticed something. A subtle shift, a change of mindset. Since I was diagnosed we’ve been eating a lot healthier, obviously, hence the near 5 stone weight loss Mr W & I have managed between us. But what I hadn’t realised was how much of our food is now cooked from scratch. Tonight, for the second time, I cooked a chicken pasanda. And it was a very tasty, passable version of my very favourite meal from  my very favourite indian takeaway. I will admit we cheated on the rice though, that’s the next challenge!

The majority of our meals are the same, the freezer now houses frozen mash (sooo not into making my own! Even before the hands started to give up, frozen mash was my friend!), ginger & garlic, fresh frozen meat & a couple of emergency pizzas/chicken nuggets for really bad days. We now actually enjoy creating things that once would have been tinned or frozen, it’s a revelation! It is, of course dependant on health, but we do a lot of batch cooking to stock the rest of the freezer. And of course the bonus is we know exactly what is in it!

So I guess what I’m saying is that it’s not just our eating habits that have changed, its our attitudes towards what we’re putting into our bodies. That is until I give in to the creme eggs that have started taunting me in the shops! I swear those things call my name every time I walk past, addictive little buggers!

P.S. If anyone wants the recipe for the yummy pasanda, give me a shout! 🙂

 

2 thoughts on “7/1/17 – Change is good. Haemorrhoids, not so much….

  1. I would love a copy of the recipe for Chicken Pasanda please ☺ As a fellow heart failure sufferer (I have Peri Partum Cardiomyopathy) who is also trying to lose weight, I wish you every success!

    Like

    1. Hi Samantha
      Thank you, it’s bloomin’ hard work isn’t it?! I find the more support I have the better, so thank you for your comment 🙂

      The Pasanda recipe I worked from can be found here:
      https://www.google.co.uk/amp/www.food.com/amp/recipe/chicken-pasanda-indian-265481?client=ms-android-samsung

      I tweaked it slightly to make it healthier – use 1tbsp butter instead of the 3 ghee/ clarified butter stated and add a splash of water once the onions have cooked to replace fluid, and I used fat free yoghurt, it works exactly the same 🙂

      Good luck to you, and please check back in & let me know how you get on with it, and with your weight loss ❤

      Lauren x

      Like

Leave a Reply

